Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: If you liked Graceling by Kristin Cashore, you will love....

For the love of YA, read
these books!
This Top Ten Tuesday is a list of suggestions for those of you who like strong, kick-ass female characters! If you liked Graceling by Kristin Cashore, then these books are for you! (we know Katniss isn't on this list, but you already know she kicks butt).

1.Alanna from The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce.  First female knight. 'Nough said. OUR ORIGINAL favorite strong female lead.
2.Anna from Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. She can rip off a person's head. And does.
3. Dru from Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow. She spends most of this series in fights. And she says "Better to be strong than pretty and useless.” 
4.Frankie from The Disreputable History of Frankie Laudau-Banks by E. Lockhart. Criminal mastermind and rule breaker.
5. Ellie from Tomorrow When the War Began by James Marsden.When Australia is invaded my an enemy nation Ellie fights back as a gorilla warrior. I have read the first two, and they are gritty and awesome.
6. Allie from The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa. Vampire powers to kick butt.
7. Puck from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. She loves to be terrible and grumpy, but is also strong and determined to save her family.
8. Donna from the Iron Witch series by Karen Mahoney
9. Sookie from the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. She will non-nonsense you, throw you out of her house, or kill you with an iron trowel (if you mess with her tanning time.)
10. Heromine from the Harry Potter Series. Smarts can be kickass, too!
BONUS 11. Elisa from The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson wins most improved. By the end, she is totally invading-enemy-camps badass. Take that early shy wishy-washy Elisa!

Ellie being badass
 A cheers of our Whiskey Sours to The Broke and the Bookish for hosting Top Ten Tuesdays!

Want to know more about why we love these ladies? See our reviews for Graceling, Anna Dressed in Blood, The Disreputable History of Frankie Laudau-Banks, The Iron WitchThe Scorpio Races, Strange Angels, and The Girl of Fire and Thorns!


  1. Kick-ass female leads! My current read lacks one and it's driving me crazy!

    But I picked up Anna Dressed in Blood and Strange Angels last week, so thanks for the reassurance!

  2. Great list! I loved Graceling and I love many of these novels as well!(:

    Ivy Book Bindings

  3. Any list with a Tamora Pierce book is totally awesome ;)
    Great list!

  4. Yes! This is an awesome list. I'll definitely have to check some of these out. Thanks! :)

  5. You and I should become friends. Why? Because we both love Scorpio Races for one. And because you are the first person I have ever seen besides me that loves The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. I get a total kick out of that book! It is refreshing to see it on someone else's list. So I am going to become a follower of yours you willing to return the favor, I'd be honored.

  6. Yes yes yes yes yes. Looove the kickass ladies. That's my main problem with YA lit. Too many wishy washy whiney girls. Everyone loves Anna from Anna and the French Kiss but she mopes about boys and sits in dark movie theaters the entire time she's in Paris. Alanna would have been having exciting and mutually agreeable/beneficial and healthy affairs with interesting strangers and being generally way more awesome.

    Count me in as another Frankie Landau-Banks fan, but I actually know a lot of people who rightly love that book!


Comments? Heck ya!